The Best Homemade Pizza

Recently, I have been craving a simple good quality pizza. My mom is from upstate New York so I spent my childhood eating drippy foldable slices of heaven. My dad is from Ohio and now that we have lived in Columbus for 8 plus years I have learned that Columbus, Ohio pizza is another beast entirely. The pizza here is on a cracker thin crust and is cut into (wait for it…) SQUARES. I don’t want to complain because I truly believe that there is no such thing as a bad pizza but pizza cut into squares just doesn’t make logical sense to me. Some pieces are all crust and some are just gooey middle bits, I just don’t get it? Anyways, I decided if I wanted good pizza, I was going to have to make some.

I wanted to keep the topping pretty simple and I am a big fan of fresh mozzarella so I chose to make pizza Margherita (essentially a simple tomato sauce, fresh mozzarella and basil leaves). I googled the best homemade Margherita pizza recipe and I decided on this recipe. I loved that I had all the ingredients except the tomatoes on hand already.

I made the dough Sunday around lunch time while I was prepping meals for the week and let it rise for 2 hours. Then, I stuck it in the fridge until around 5:30 pm when I took it out to warm up at room temperature while I preheated the oven.

Then I assembled all my ingredients: a simple tomato sauce, parmesan cheese, chopped basil, fresh mozzarella, dough and olive oil (note the mood music which is a must).

img_2001

I made 1/2 the recipe since there was only two people eating this pizza and the recipe made a nice sized 10-inch pizza.

Topped and ready for the oven…

img_2003

Post-baking:

img_2004

Note: I HIGHLY recommend rolling out your pizza on parchment paper so you can easily pick up and transfer the unbaked pizza to your pre-heated pizza stone. It is the best pizza making trick I every learned.

Final product (Two seconds before it was demolished)

img_2006

Was it worth all the work? Definitely. The crust was so light and slightly crispy and the topping to crust ratio was spot on. If you plan ahead like I did and prep your dough early on in the day, this pizza comes together fairly quickly when it comes time to make dinner.

Final Verdict: I highly recommend this recipe to anyone who is craving a simple and delicious pizza. Just don’t ruin it by cutting it into squares 😉

Leave a Reply

