Vegan Crispy “Chicken” Tenders

Recently I have been into experimenting with tofu, as soy was one of the six foods I avoided during my elimination diet. However I have begun to start reintroducing it into my meals and it’s been fun playing with the versatile food that tofu is. Currently I have been using firm for most of my recipes with the exception of my smoothies in which I use silken. I thought I would share one of my favorite new recipes after Candace shared her incredible chicken taco boats! 

This recipe is something I got the idea from off of Pinterest, however I have been unable to find the original source as there are multiple ones. So I will say this is inspired by a village! I loved this recipe because of how quick and easy it has been for me to make, and there’s only three ingredients!

Oil Free Vegan Crispy “Chicken” Tenders

(vegan, vegetarian, gluten free)

Ingredients

1 package of firm tofu (I used the WFM organic firm)

1/2-3/4 cup of nutritional yeast

Mrs.Dash Original Seasoning Blend 

 

Instructions

Pre heat the oven to 350 F, line a cookie sheet with parchment paper

Carefully drain your tofu from the package and pat dry with a paper towel but be sure to leave some moisture.

Once towel dried cut the tofu into tender like planks, I made mine into twelve slices of equal width.

Take a small plate and place your nutritional yeast in it, I did mine in segments so that there was never too much spilling off the plate.

img_8342

Lay each plank into the nutritional yeast and press gently, flip over and do the same action again, I also quickly did each of the edges for an additional crisp factor.

img_8343

Once you have coated the tender lay on the baking sheet and sprinkle with your favorite seasoning. I used Mrs. Dash, but you could also use Italian or garlic powder, black pepper, there are lots of options!

Now place the coated seasoned planks into the oven for 30-35min. I found any longer made them a little too chewy.

img_8344

Remove from the oven and allow them to cool on a cooling rack for at least ten minutes.

I dipped mine in honey mustard and vegan mayo (drool)

There you have it! Easy, oil free “chicken” tenders!

img_8348img_8350

 

 

5 thoughts on “Vegan Crispy “Chicken” Tenders

  1. avofoodies says:

    This is such a coincidence because I was actually contemplating going on an elimination diet as well. I’m just really reluctant to give up soy (because of tofu and soymilk) but how is your elimination diet going?
    – Serena

    Like

    • Vitamin C's says:

      Great minds think alike! The elimination diet is a long term commitment that for many people has a high success rate of identifying food sensitivities. I personally found this to be the case and it helped me immensely. Initially it’s a huge pain because you feel like you can’t eat anything but gradually once you add more foods it becomes much easier. Oatmeal will be your best friend for the first month or so! Giving up soy is hard, but coconut milk is a great option will the same uses!

      Liked by 1 person

      • avofoodies says:

        Thanks this is really helpful! I think the hardest part of the diet is eliminating nuts and soy because I eat those foods like crazy! I think I might try this diet during the summer because I’m really interested to know what foods I’m intolerant to. Also, the summer will give me a chance to make my own meals (as right now I rely on my school dining hall)
        -Serena

        Like

Leave a Reply

